Skip to content
Fermanagh and Omagh Counts — Fermanagh and Omagh, in numbers.Local help →

Fermanagh and Omagh, in numbers

People and living standards

Fermanagh and Omagh council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Fermanagh and Omagh council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 105,751 in 2001 to 117,663 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

2001 to 2025

Fermanagh and Omagh council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 105,751 people in 2001; 117,663 people in 2025. 11.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Fermanagh and Omagh council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
2001105,751
2002106,663
2003107,332
2004107,923
2005108,586
2006109,344
2007110,345
2008111,494
2009111,998
2010112,919
2011113,501
2012114,162
2013114,219
2014114,785
2015115,057
2016115,456
2017115,859
2018116,329
2019116,797
2020116,594
2021116,926
2022116,994
2023117,195
2024117,687
2025117,663
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

2001 to 2025

Fermanagh and Omagh council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 26,019 people in 2001; 24,163 people in 2025. 7.1% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Fermanagh and Omagh council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
200126,019
200225,636
200325,345
200425,012
200524,705
200624,575
200724,588
200824,755
200924,844
201024,942
201124,897
201224,943
201324,857
201424,806
201524,727
201624,732
201724,817
201824,958
201924,953
202024,826
202124,775
202224,803
202324,656
202424,535
202524,163
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

2001 to 2025

Fermanagh and Omagh council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 66,222 people in 2001; 69,778 people in 2025. 5.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Fermanagh and Omagh council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
200166,222
200267,302
200368,102
200468,810
200569,631
200670,335
200771,168
200871,760
200971,854
201072,281
201172,482
201272,494
201372,119
201472,204
201572,035
201671,886
201771,665
201871,451
201971,373
202070,750
202170,503
202270,043
202369,898
202469,942
202569,778
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

2001 to 2025

Fermanagh and Omagh council area · people

Reviewed figures: 2001 to 2025. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 13,510 people in 2001; 23,722 people in 2025. 75.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Fermanagh and Omagh council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991These figures are missing.
1992These figures are missing.
1993These figures are missing.
1994These figures are missing.
1995These figures are missing.
1996These figures are missing.
1997These figures are missing.
1998These figures are missing.
1999These figures are missing.
2000These figures are missing.
200113,510
200213,725
200313,885
200414,101
200514,250
200614,434
200714,589
200814,979
200915,300
201015,696
201116,122
201216,725
201317,243
201417,775
201518,295
201618,838
201719,377
201819,920
201920,471
202021,018
202121,648
202222,148
202322,641
202423,210
202523,722
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 116,811 residents
How this census compares with other years

Northern Ireland’s 2021 native ethnicity categories are retained. Counts are for current Local Government Districts, not reconstructed historical districts. Different tables can differ slightly because of census privacy protection.

Ethnic group · Fermanagh and Omagh · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White114,81098.3%
Irish Traveller2930.3%
Roma260%
Indian2070.2%
Chinese2490.2%
Filipino1360.1%
Pakistani510%
Arab670.1%
Other Asian1210.1%
Black African1440.1%
Black Other660.1%
Mixed4950.4%
Other ethnicities1460.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 17% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Fermanagh and Omagh council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £7,582 per person in 1997; £21,549 per person in 2024. 184.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Fermanagh and Omagh council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19977,582
19987,596
19997,976
20008,266
20018,593
20028,953
20039,845
200410,731
200511,434
200612,088
200712,245
200812,204
200912,329
201012,389
201112,694
201212,836
201313,087
201413,482
201514,304
201614,724
201715,319
201815,603
201916,280
202016,750
202117,501
202218,723
202320,000
202421,549
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Fermanagh and Omagh council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -28.5% in 1997; -17% in 2024. 11.5 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Fermanagh and Omagh council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-28.5
1998-29.8
1999-29.5
2000-30.6
2001-30.5
2002-29.2
2003-24.5
2004-20.9
2005-18.7
2006-17.5
2007-20.2
2008-22.5
2009-23
2010-23.3
2011-22.1
2012-24
2013-25.3
2014-25.4
2015-24.8
2016-23.5
2017-22.2
2018-23.6
2019-22.7
2020-20.2
2021-19.9
2022-18.5
2023-18.2
2024-17
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

25.5%

21 March 2021 · Fermanagh and Omagh council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

First count table in Ward/LGD/NI worksheets of census-2021-ms-g01.xlsx. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Census privacy adjustments can make totals differ slightly between tables.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.7%

21 March 2021 · Fermanagh and Omagh council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

First count table in Ward/LGD/NI worksheets of census-2021-ms-d01.xlsx. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Census privacy adjustments can make totals differ slightly between tables.

Source →

Average home price

£202,000

July 2026 · Fermanagh and Omagh council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for population; missing years are not zero.

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for people aged 0 to 15; missing years are not zero.

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for people aged 16 to 64; missing years are not zero.

25 of 35 requested annual observations are available for people aged 65 or over; missing years are not zero.

No counts returned for this exact present-day area code in the 2011 census table. Older boundaries have not been reassigned by name or population share.

The 2001 Northern Ireland ethnicity table uses former districts; a verified reconstruction to this modern area is not included.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.